Author Topic: UltraGauge cannot be set to metric  (Read 8576 times)

Offline paulm

  • Newbie Gearhead
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
UltraGauge cannot be set to metric
« on: August 16, 2010, 07:44:09 PM »
I took a look at the manual and correct me if I'm wrong but the UltraGauge cannot be set to metric units.  :-[
Too bad, I guess my only alternative is the ScanGauge.

Offline UltraGauge Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 364
    • View Profile
Re: UltraGauge cannot be set to metric
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2010, 08:24:42 PM »

You are correct.  UltraGauge does not currently support metric units

Offline paulm

  • Newbie Gearhead
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: UltraGauge cannot be set to metric
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2010, 07:17:57 PM »
Any plans on updating the UltraGauge to support metric units? Should be a minor programming update.

Offline UltraGauge Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 364
    • View Profile
Re: UltraGauge cannot be set to metric
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2010, 07:24:34 PM »
Sorry, I don't have any estimate at this time.  But I would say it will not be weeks, it probably months.

Offline sontakke

  • Newbie Gearhead
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: UltraGauge cannot be set to metric
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2010, 10:27:08 AM »
The funny thing is all the data is already in the metric form.  UG does the conversion before the display.  It is funny watching the engine temperature goes from 185 to 186.8 to 188.6 to 190.4 to 192.2 etc.  Same thing for speedometer too!  The speed kept on fluctuating between 62.1 to 62.8 to 63.4 etc.

Offline UltraGauge Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 364
    • View Profile
Re: UltraGauge cannot be set to metric
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2010, 10:44:15 AM »
The funny thing is all the data is already in the metric form.  UG does the conversion before the display.  It is funny watching the engine temperature goes from 185 to 186.8 to 188.6 to 190.4 to 192.2 etc.  Same thing for speedometer too!  The speed kept on fluctuating between 62.1 to 62.8 to 63.4 etc.
Data for those gauges is delivered directly from the vehicle's engine computer.   The computer does not have the best granularity.   For example, the temperature is in steps of 1.8 degrees F.    In your example, note that the difference between the values is 1.8F.
Still this is much, much better than an analog factory gauge which typically have no units only generic lines.
The granularity of the speedo is 0.621 MPH

Offline shoora

  • Newbie Gearhead
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: UltraGauge cannot be set to metric
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2010, 03:18:09 AM »
The funny thing is all the data is already in the metric form.  UG does the conversion before the display.  It is funny watching the engine temperature goes from 185 to 186.8 to 188.6 to 190.4 to 192.2 etc.  Same thing for speedometer too!  The speed kept on fluctuating between 62.1 to 62.8 to 63.4 etc.
Data for those gauges is delivered directly from the vehicle's engine computer.   The computer does not have the best granularity.   For example, the temperature is in steps of 1.8 degrees F.    In your example, note that the difference between the values is 1.8F.
Still this is much, much better than an analog factory gauge which typically have no units only generic lines.
The granularity of the speedo is 0.621 MPH
Data is in the metric form.
0.621 mile=1 kilometer
213.8F - 212F (101C-100C)=1.8F

If update for metric system will ever be released, is it possible for existing customers to update their devices?

Offline sontakke

  • Newbie Gearhead
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: UltraGauge cannot be set to metric
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2010, 08:35:20 AM »
I knew that; I actually made those numbers up using Google conversion when I posted here :-)

However, if you play with the simulator, it shows the whole numbers!

- Vikas