Author Topic: lose settings if connected to another auto???  (Read 3787 times)

Offline aclinml@yahoo.com

  • Newbie Gearhead
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
lose settings if connected to another auto???
« on: November 28, 2010, 05:12:36 PM »
Pretty quick and easy question. I have my ultragauge connected and configured in my car. A friend of mine had the check engine light come on in his car. If I take my ultragauge and connect it in his car to debug the check engine, will I lose any of my settings and configuration when I move it back to my car?

Thanks

Offline UltraGauge Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 364
    • View Profile
Re: lose settings if connected to another auto???
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2010, 08:12:19 PM »
You may attach UG to another vehicle to check the engine codes without losing any accumulated data or settings.   However, if you have used the "force protocol" config setting, it will be necessary to return it to "auto" prior to attaching it to the 2nd vehicle, assuming the 2nd vehicle does not use the same protocol as the 1st vehicle.