Author Topic: Support ticketing System failing  (Read 4307 times)

Offline TrackDaddy

• Newbie Gearhead
    • View Profile
Support ticketing System failing
« on: September 14, 2011, 01:10:46 AM »

on a 2012 Ford Focus CAN-11

The device appears to have missed detecting a gauge.  I'm pretty sure my car has 2 x O2 gauges.  I look at the Ford Parts site and looks like there is a front and rear O2 gauge.  I'm no mechanic so, I could be wrong.

However, the Ultra Gauge only shows "Bank1 O2 2 Voltage".  I suspect that my Ultra Guage should show a  "Bank1 O2 1 Voltage" but, it doesn't.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2011, 04:40:39 AM by UltraGauge Admin »

Offline UltraGauge Admin

• Administrator
  • Sr. Member Gearhead
    • View Profile
Re: Support ticketing System failing
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2011, 04:52:14 AM »
Manufacturers don't always make all sensors available via OBDII.  In fact, they typically do not.  It is not surprising that they would provide some O2 sensors and not others.   It does seem odd that there is a sensor 2 and not a 1,  but UG only reports what it finds.  Looking in the database, we do see a few other current model Ford's reporting the same results.

Offline tfuk

• Newbie Gearhead
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2011, 04:39:58 PM »
There are 3 sets of PIDs associated with the O2 sensors.

The first set is $14 to $1B - this is displayed by UG as "O2 Sensor Output Voltage".
These PIDs shall be used for a conventional, 0 to 1 volt oxygen sensor.
Any sensor with a different full scale value shall be normalized to provide nominal full scale at $C8 (200 decimal).
Thus, here you see your "Bank1 O2 2 Voltage".

Wide-range/linear oxygen sensors shall use PIDs $24 to $2B or PIDs $34 to $3B.
The second set, i.e., $24 to $2B, is displayed by UG as "Wide O2 Sensor Output Lamda" and here I suppose you see nothing. Don't worry, the same does my car with 2 O2 sensors.