Knowledgebase
UltraGauge > UltraGauge Technical Support Help Desk > Knowledgebase

When things go wrong, perform a system reset

Solution

Often configuration changes are made without understanding their affect and this results in unexpected behavior.   Then it may be difficult to remember how to undo what was done.

For example, if calibration is performed incorrectly or assigning gauges to wrong pages or other like changes.

 

To undo all configuration changes and return UltraGauge to all original factory settings, please follow this procedure:

Restoring an UltraGauge (Wired Version): 

1. Unplug UltraGauge
2. Set the ignition to the RUN position
3. Press and hold the MENU key.
4. Plug in UltraGauge.
5. Wait 5 seconds, Release the MENU key.  The MENU system will start.
6. Select UltraGauge Setup.. --> Restore ALL Defaults.

You will then be prompted to confirm.  Once confirmed UltraGauge will reboot and begin Scanning for the interface and protocol used.  Once found UltraGauge will begin Gauge discovery.
The down side of a global reset is that it will erase any configuration and calibration previously performed.

Restoring an UltraGauge (Wireless Version): 
1. Unplug the UltraGauge Blue Adapter
2. Set the ignition to the RUN position
3. Press and hold the button on the Blue Adapter while plugging it back in
4. Go to the UltraGauge Blue App and wait for it to connect (once connected, you should see a "down arrow" near the top left corner where the Bluetooth icon normally appears.  This means the Adapter is in Update mode).
5. Go to the Settings->UltraGauge Settings->Update Blue Adapter screen.
6. Make sure the 'Factory Default Blue Configuration" box is checked on this screen and click "Next".  Follow the prompts to complete the Update.  This will make sure that the correct Version of the Adapter is installed and will also restore the configuration on the Adapter.

Once completed, UltraGauge will reboot and begin Scanning for the interface and protocol used.  Once found UltraGauge will begin Gauge discovery.
The down side of a global reset is that it will erase any configuration and calibration previously performed.

Related articles Vehicle impaired when UltraGauge is attached
Display garbled on page change
Multiple vehicle use?
Fails to connect when running the Adapter Update
Adapter stuck in Update Mode
Article details
Article ID: 26
Category: Knowledgebase

 
« Go back